Scabby Chin: Food Allergy?

Sonatine

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Amelia's chin has become somewhat red and scabby. It doesn't seem to bother her especially, and I haven't noticed her scratching it too much, but there's also a lot of time where I'm not home. I really only noticed it the other night, but it probably started before that.

Fortunately, no signs of anything weird with the other cat's skin, so that makes me think something contagious/parasitic is less likely.

This makes me think that the culprit is either food or litter. I've switched to different clay litters a couple of times, based on what's on sale and what is light enough for me to carry several blocks to my apartment. I've been feeding her more friskies lately as well, because I am a graduate student who is perpetually poor. I hadn't noticed any issues with friskies when I fed it occasionally in the past month or so, but perhaps giving her more has made her itchy. I also recently gave her the salmon flavor; I hadn't given her anything salmon since she barfed up a can of salmon fancy feast and it was so gross I nearly gave up salmon myself.

My current plan is to not give her friskies/anything salmon for a while and see if it clears up. Thoughts? Is this a reasonable course of action? I'd hate to stress her out at the vet and have them try to force their crappy hypoallergenic food on me if it's a minor problem I can solve myself.

Azazel

Time spent with cats is never wasted.
Top Cat
Purraise
Can you post a picture? It sounds like feline acne.

What kind of bowls do you use? If you use plastic you should switch to stainless steel or ceramic as plastic harbors bacteria and cats can't clean their chins very well so this sometimes leads to feline acne and scabs.

Allergies are usually accompanied by immediate itching after eating.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Sonatine

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise