Renting and Mold Control

WillowMarie

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hello everyone. This is my first time renting, and have already told my landlord that has been mold growing on some of the window sills. It has been a few weeks and she still hasn't come to do anything about it. She has fixed the broken shower handle, and mentioned when that was fixed she still needs to find something to take care of the mold. There is no formal renting agreement or anything.

I was going to text her and ask for a discount on next months rent, since I read that is a thing, but unsure if applies in NC. And also state that this needs to get taken care of ASAP because Isabelle and I have asthma, which makes us more sensitive to mold. Two cats have also started reverse sneezing, which the vet said isn't a problem if it only happens once every week or so, but most likely allergies. Isabelle just started doing it, which she has never done before! Plus, Isabelle was having strange eye discharge for the first time in her life and the vet said it was allergy related, due to mold.

Also, I was thinking of asking if she can apply or reapply a waterproof sealant to the windows for protection to prevent future mold growth. Is this a thing and safe for indoors? My vet said that a lot of the old homes have mold around here, especially with the high moisture levels in the area. I do know she said she replaced all the windows before I moved in a year ago.

So give me all your renting wisdom and encouragement, thanks! I'm kind of ping ponging between "I've got this, I'm going to be bold and stand up for myself and kitties" and "she's going to get mad and hold it against me and I'm less confident and scared to say something."

Twylasmom

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
My initial thought is that It is in both of your best interests to get some sort of rental agreement in writing that clearly states responsibilities on both sides.