Recliner Chairs - Dangers?

Pat'sCats

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Being new to the site I checked "More Options" and it looks like I managed to post a blank reply. Sorry folks, let's hope this works. Due to allergies I am also fairly new to cats. We had a cat adopt us but due to my allergies Spooky appeared destined to remain a porch cat. Then we moved and were afraid she would get lost so she became an indoor cat while I began getting allergy shots. Now we have two cats. Keiko adopted me and now we're a team. She loves going under the footrest of our recliner when it is up. That La-Z-Boy foot rest descends with a crash. She hasn't been caught under there yet but my son made a good point last night. People forget. Visiting guests who may not know the rules might sit in the recliner. Cat's forget. You can remind them but it's those forgetful times that can cost your cat all seven lives at once. I looked underneath the foot rest and do you know what mechanism raises and lowers it? Two scissor jacks. One on each side with plenty of room in either one for a paw, tail or head. Guess why they call them 'scissor' jacks? This morning I clamped the footrest down with zip ties. While experimenting with how to best do it, one attempt had the scissor jacks slice through the nylon zip ties like butter. Cats are not as tough as nylon zip ties. Unlike people, with cats past behavior is not a predictor of future behavior. Cat's like to change things up. Please don't think that just because a cat has never been hurt by your recliner it means that can't ever happen. Recliners are seriously dangerous to cat's, dogs and toddlers. My campaign for a new chair begins today. I have a strong hunch my wife will be easily convinced.

dustydiamond1

Minion to Gypsy since October 2016
Top Cat
Purraise