Raw Mince And Toxoplasmosis

Erinlinkcappy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
So a few months ago my Cat ( Link) was very sick with toxoplasmosis. He recovered but it was recommended he not eat raw mince again because of the risk of infection. Previously we had been giving him a lot of raw mince.

Link loves raw mince and goes mad when we are cooking it to make spaghetti etc. and sometimes I’m tempted to give him a little but I don’t.

I guess I’m confused about the overall reasoning behind the mince ban. I know he caught the parasite from the mince. I know most cats don’t have symptoms from toxoplasmosis and it may be likely my other cat got it and was not affected. So did Link just get a very strong version of the infection or is his body particularly susceptible for some reason? Is giving him a small amount of mince very dangerous??

4horses

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Why not cook the meat first? I'm not a proponent of feeding cats raw because of the risk of infection.

The problem with raw meat is due to factory farming and how meat is processed. For example ground beef is the meat from several hundred cows mixed together (from the machines mixing it together). This means any supermarket meat is contaminated usually with several different pathogenic bacteria.

My cats love cooked meat! i do not ever feed raw unless it is a live mouse the cats catch themselves.

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Whenever I served GROUND raw to my guys, I always bought it specifically from an organization that ground it for dogs and cats and never from a grocery store. It usually already included some organs and bones in it too, so was nutritionally complete. Do you have that option? Not sure where you live (country) or I might could advise you of places to purchase. Otherwise, you could buy whole meats and grind your own, that way you don't risk having pathogens in it, or you could cook it, as 4horses 4horses suggested.

LTS3