raising a newborn...

aswas

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi again everybody. Thanks again for the tips on sexing - I'm now an expert.
I have a question that will come after a long-ish story giving you the background.

As you may or may not remember, we live in the suburbs and have had a family of "stray" cats living on our property since before we moved in a few years ago. There was a litter born in early April, and the mother let us touch and play with them. We named them Mason and Dixon, and they are very sweet... Mason still loves a good belly rub!

Now, a litter was born to a first-time mom this past Sunday 24 June. "Junior Cat," who will be 1 year old in a few weeks, appears to have had 4 babies. 1 didn't make it through the first day. Not surprising considering for the first 24 hours, Junior hung around with Mason and Dixon (her siblings, though she's a season older) under a shady tree while at least two babies SCREAMED in the bushes. We couldn't get to them, and she was ignoring them. My husband and I were JUST about to take one in who had crawled out of the bushes when Junior Cat decided to be a Mom.

From there, it didn't go particularly well. We often saw Junior not taking care of these babies, and as of a day or so ago, we realised that only one of these seemingly healthy and energetic kitties was still alive. Junior had put her in our garage, which we leave open for the cat family, up on a shelf along with one of the dead babies. This morning, I realise that Junior is eating the dead baby, which is awkward to think about but probably not uncommon for these cats to do... I guess.

Junior has been very protective of the dead babies. When I went to remove the first one from where she put it, she hissed at me like crazy. Today, when I went near the dead baby, she hissed like crazy. Live baby? Whatever.