Question about ferals

scarletta

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi Everyone,

I just have a question for the experts about feral cats. I live in a rural area and I have 1 cat who I feed on a regular basis. There isnt a colony of cats just about 3 independent ones that dont run together in a group. I feed all of them but this one cat comes at the same time every night (around 7:30pm) and he's the one that seems to reside on our property where the other ones are most likely barn cats belonging to some of the farmers around me. Anyway, he appears to be very healthy but definitely not social. I have cats of my own so I feed him the same dry food I feed them plus he has a dish of fresh water and gets a treat of wet food every now and then (just like my own indoor kitties too!). My question is...what should I do about shelter? We have two sheds on our property but I dont think they would be very appropriate as a shelter because my Dad keeps garden tools and such in there. I'm only a student and therefore cant afford anything elaborate but I was thinking about pooling some money together and buying a plastic or wooden dog house...would this be appropriate? I'm thinking ahead of time for the winter when it's snowy and cold. This cat is definitely a male and he's been around for quite some time. I would guess he's over 5 at least. He does come when he's called and will only approach me so close. The other night I decided to be brave and reach out and pet him..well, he seemed ok with it for about 2 seconds and then reared back and hissed at me (didnt try and scratch or bite though) so I wont trying that again any time soon (actually, I feel a bit afraid of him now since I've never had to deal with a cat who isnt social). I really want to make sure he has the best life possible and I'm just sorry I cant do more. I would like to get him neutered but it'll take me awhile to save the money and my parents really cant help me out because we already have a brood of cats of our own, a d