Question about Advantage II for Dogs Use on Cats

lovemymeows

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I've been dosing K-9 Frontline to our 3 cats for several years now, but recently decided  to switch to Advantage II, as the fleas weren't responding to the Frontline anymore.  All 3 of them are bigger cats, 12 lbs and up, so according to the dosing charts I've see they would each get 0.8 ml of Advantage II.  I'm a little hesitant to apply it now, since I see the "Do Not Use on Cats" warning on the front of the Extra Large Dog Advantage II box.  Did they change their formula or is it still safe to dose cats from the dog product?  I appreciate your help! :)

DreamerRose

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
If it says don't use it on cats, then don't use it on cats. Get some that is made for cats. Don't use any product made for dogs on your cats unless a veterinarian tells you to.

red top rescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
What @DreamerRose just said is a good general rule. My vet was the one who told me about it in the first place when I said I couldn't afford to use Advantage on a whole rescue full of cats.

If you will check the ingredients of each, you will see that Advantage II for Cats and Advantage II for Dogs is EXACTLY THE SAME PRODUCT, the same drugs in the same concentrations.  To date, Bayer has not added anything to the Advantage II formulation to make it unsafe for cats.  That would be too much trouble.  They just changed the packaging to make it scary.