Prozac in kitties?

donutte

Professional cat sitter extraordinaire!
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm gonna be picking up a prescription for Prozac for Maple in a few. I'm curious if there are any side effects in cats that I need to watch out for. I've been on it myself, plus I work in the pharmacy industry, so VERY well aware of side effects in humans. Are there any that cats typically experience with it though? Long-term or short-term?

I completely forgot to ask my vet all these questions unfortunately. I'm still giving it to her regardless, but I like to know if there's anything I should look out for. I imagine if there was anything potentially bad he would have mentioned it (eg, the potential reactions cats have to methimazole).

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise
There are some reported side effects of prozac in cats.

1.  Meowing

2.  Loss of appetite

3.  Restlessness or lethargy

4.  Trouble breathing

5.   Aggressiveness or irritability

6.   Initial doses may cause vomiting or diarrhea. 

Unfortunately, I have no idea how common these side effects are.  Since prozac has been used so successfully in cats, I'm assuming they are relatively rare, but you should double check with your vet.  Since you just were in the office, it is perfectly acceptable for you to call back with a follow-up question.  

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

donutte

Top Cat
Purraise
I am looking more I think for real experience if anyone has it. Usually that's what I ask my vet for too. If no one does that I will definitely call him by tomorrow. I'm not super-worried about it. Diarrhea makes me a little nervous - omg, I hope not, since she's still not 100% using the litter box!