Primal Frozen Raw Medallions ...

darg

Gizmo
Alpha Cat
Purraise
... first impressions were not very good. Got a bag of the Turkey to try and got it home only to find that it was bad. 2020 expiration date (I think) so not expired but definitely looked freezer burnt. Brown on the outside, still pinkish on the inside. Didn't smell terrible but had an odor that was "off" on top of the raw meat smell. It's my first time buying this brand so I called Primal to make sure. They directed me to take it back. The store clerk confirmed it. She felt that it was definitely bad.

On the bright side, Primal's customer service was very good. They didn't offer me any freebies but the rep. was friendly and apologetic. Obviously, this could have happened anywhere along the delivery chain so I'm not going to hold it against Primal and write them off just yet.

That said, I would like to know if any of y'all who feed Primal frozen have had any similar issues. I'm hoping this isn't typical because I'd like to try the food.

Thanks

kittyluv387

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
The brown on the outside is due to oxidation when the meat gets exposed to air. I make my own raw and store it in Mason jars. The outside parts get light brown and inside is the typical red/pink color.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

darg

Gizmo
Alpha Cat
Purraise
The brown on the outside is due to oxidation when the meat gets exposed to air. I make my own raw and store it in Mason jars. The outside parts get light brown and inside is the typical red/pink color.
Understood, I've seen hamburger do it. But this was different. The outside was brown but you could see that most of the surface had that dried out look. Definitely looked freezer burnt. Unfortunately, it appears that it was definitely an off bag. It was the last bag of Turkey and the bag was puffier than the other flavors in the freezer. I should have had an inkling before buying.

They're getting some more in end of the week, and I'll try it again.