Pregnant stray cat.. take in or not?

sugafoot

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have been feeding this stray cat for a few months now and for the past few weeks she has a growing belly. Yesterday morning when I went to feed her I noticed that there were 2 other strays that went for her plate and she walked away following me. I went and split the meal in two and walked away with (Pinky's) portion. I stood there and waited for her to finish while also keeping the others away. She watched me to make sure I wasn't leaving too... lol. This concerns me and Im thinking about taking her in.. Well allowing here to live on my 2nd floor patio. I have 2 cats of my own and Im not comfortable with introducing the stray into the house. Im sure shes not vaccinated. My questions are... Is hat ok? Will she try to jump off the patio? Or should I leave her outside until shes farther along? Shes clearly attached to me. I find her by my stairs waiting on me when I get home every day around 8am and if im late I can meow a bit and she will find me

catsknowme

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
:welcomesign: Welcome to TCS! Thank you for caring for those kitties. Miss Pinky sounds like she is a lost or discarded kitty - frequently, unspayed females get chased out of familiar territory by overaggressive males & dogs and find themselves permanently lost.
Would your patio offer adequate climate control? Would you be able to screen off the balcony? It is possible to makeshift a cat-proof barrier using flag holders, doweling and bird-proof netting.
If you can prevent weather exposure and falls, the kitty is definitely better off with you. For starters, she needs high quality kitten food which has more calcium (hypocalcemia is a grave danger to pregnant & nursing cats. Hypocalcemic cats can die during birthing or shortly after the kittens are born).