pregnant feral

bierhouse

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have been taking care of a feral cat and her son for a few months now. she had kittens in behind our garage before i moved in this summer and I think the son was the only one to survive or was not taken. They finally trust me enough to sit on my lap!!I wanted to get them fixed but the foundation that will pay for it needs a landlords signature.My landlords will not sign it, they want them to go to the humane society and get adopted. They obviously don't know that ferals aren't good candidates for adoption.Anyways, I'm a college student and am saving up to pay for it myself.The mom however is now 5 weeks pregnant.She and her son used to live on the porch but since she has gotten pregnant she has moved up the street to another porch.Relations are good with her son still so i don't understand why she'll only come for dinner. I'm also worried about her having kittens where college students who don't know much could do harm. I want to catch the kittens and socialize them for new homes and I want to get the mother and son fixed. What are the chances of her having the kittens in the same place again and do you think she's afraid of what her son may do to the babies?I've informed the people living in the house of her and asked if i could come and check up on her there every once and while. I'm still waiting for a reply from them. What should I do???
Angela

hissy

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Contact them, they get back in short order and usually have a list of people near you that will help, or will give you guidance for the situation. The sad fact is with wild litters, if there is a Tom in the vicinity, he will kill the kittens, bringing the mom back into heat before she is ready, take her and then lay in wait for the next litter and repeat the cycle.