Post Spay Hernia (please Help!)

Baya08

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
hello everyone! this is my first time here and i hope to find the help i’m looking for..
I spayed my 4 year old cat last saturday and all went well with the surgery,she started eating drinking and using the litter box normally about two days later and just generally acted like the sweet cuddley cat she always has been,on the fourth day i noticed a lump right under her incision and i tried to convince myself it was probably just a suture reaction since she was acting fine and it didn’t hurt her at all and the incision itself was healing beautifuly,the next day it looked a little bigger and that’s when i started getting concerned so i called the vet and he told me to bring her in and it turned out to be a hernia,some fat slipped through her abdominal wall and created that bulge,she is having surgery right now to get it fixed and will stay at the vet till saturday morning for monitoring.
The vet said she might have been too active and broke a stitch or two but she wasn’t active at all,i kept her in my room the whole time and i stayed with her,she only jumped on my bed to sleep with me and its not high at all.
If anyone experienced this please tell me how did it go? How was the healing? I’m DYING of stress i have never been so scared in my life!

Mamanyt1953

Rules my home with an iron paw
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
First, TAKE A DEEP BREATH! I know you are terrified, but, while this isn't normal, neither is it rare. It does happen, and the fix is pretty easy. He's right to keep her for a day or two, just to make sure that the site begins to heal with NO disturbance. And for some cats (not all, but some), even jumping on and off a bed, and landing wrong, could do this. The odds are VERY, VERY high that she will be just fine.

Almost every cat I have ever heard of who had this repair did well. Healing took a little extra time, but overall, they did well.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter