Please Help

Jen1607

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Ok...so i have 2 cats. 7 yr old Male named Colby and 13 week old female named Eevee. We have had her for well over a month. The cats play together and for the most part get along.

For the last couple of weeks Colby has been acting very weird.
When i get home he is very happy to see me. I pick him up...he snuggles everything. Then i give them wet food. Seperate dishes...though they dont mind eating from the same one. Anyways once hes done eating his attitude does a 360. He starts growling at everything...hisses at me...swats at me...spits at me. And thats lasts for a good few hours.

I dont know what to do anymore. I know hes jealouse of the new kitten but he gets along with her. And he only freaks out at me after feeding time.

Please help

EggSandwich

Cinnamon's roll
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm not 100% sure what I'm saying, as I am relatively new to cat owning as well. However, here is what I would say:
Have you started feeding Colby less to save food for the kitten? He'd be the one to notice.
Does he act the same way to the kitten?

I would redo the introduction process. There are plenty of good reads in the article section to help with this process.

Another, more farfetched thing to consider would be that he does not like his food any more. Do you know of any changes in formulation or perhaps a developing allergy? Does he scratch himself a lot? What does he eat out of? Plastic?

I'm just throwing ideas out there because no one else has answered. Thanks.

Ceracera

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Do you do anything between feeding time and when he's done eating? Like shower or change your clothes? Have you started using a new shampoo or anything like that?

Its kinda odd he didnt do this when the new kitten was introduced but a few weeks after. So id guess it doesnt have much to do with the new kitten. Unless the new kitten has started eating more and hes not getting enough food now.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter