Please Help with Medical Advice, Cat Ate Plastic

rpersona

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello All,

I have never used this board before but I am really hoping it can help me through this stressful situation.

My cat ate about and inch and a half of plastic. It was the softish kind of plastic bag. But Thicker then ziploc bag. More sturdy. He ate the corner of a bag which makes me afraid it might have been sharp.

He is a chronic plastic eater so i have to constantly check my house and dispose of plastic as soon as it gets brought into the house. This time I made a mistake and missed a piece when i was cleaning up. He has eaten plastic many times in the past because no matter how hard i try it just seems to happen every now and then. Nothing bad has ever happened from it but i am always very scared.

He ate the plastic 2.5 days ago. Since then he has developed diarrhea which is yellowish color (not bright yellow but more of a yellowy tan color) and sometimes projectile. He sometimes farts while he is using the bathroom. Also he keeps going in and pooping small soft pieces. Then returning 30 minutes later and pooping another small piece.

Other then his stool problems, he is full of energy, has a great appetite, is very playful, and seems to be completely normal.

I wanted to ask for help because i am very very scared of intestinal blockage. But I know that they usually experience more symptoms then just diarrhea. Does this mean there is a good chance the diarrhea could be from something else and not from eating plastic? 

Two other things I thought might be a factor: