Picking Up Feral/ Semi-feral/ Scared Cats In Weather Emergency

marmoset

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
So last night we had very severe weather with tornado watches.

I had everything prepped- all the stuff ready to go to the basement or to the car (if our house was compromised and we had to leave after the storms. But I was in absolute misery not feeling like I could pick up two of our indoor cats who came in from outside as totally feral and semi-feral (reverted) conversely.

So today I started lift training the true feral, who being only 1 year plus is more trusting than the reverted feral old lady we took in. To my surprise she did fine- no response really. She just wanted pets. I can lift her about 2-3 inches off the ground and move her a foot away. So that's her starting point. The other cat...I don't know what would happen. I've been working on her for at least 6 months trying to get her used to me touching her and getting both hands on her lower sides. Each time I try to lift her she leaps. She recovers but she still leaps and sometimes hisses. This is clearly not at all what she expects me to do.

So how do I get the two holdouts to accept being picked up.

Furthermore, how do I get them to the point where they can handle being picked up and crated with sirens going off or roaring storms?

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi! I think continue to do what you're doing, and by the way congratulations on the feral!! It actually sounds like the other one is uber feral, my goodness.

Can you start putting treats in a carrier that has a door propped open?

Jcatbird

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise