Owners who feed their cats raw/high quality canned food, how can I make this transition less overwhelming and...less expensive?

Bloominz

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I got a new kitty a week and a half ago and he's settling in very well. He's a 3 year old Maine coons mix ( he's 10 lbs) who I think has mostly grown up on dry food.

I've lived with cats in the past and I took care of my childhood cat for a while until she passed from lymphoma in March. That was when I started reading up on cat nutrition. I learned quite a bit and there is still so much to learn.

I know my cat's diet will never be perfect but, I want to do the best I can. Granted I am a college student so I think the most I can spend on a cat + other stuff he may need is $60 a month and this will be split between me and my partner.

I work at an animal hospital and plan on taking him in at some point just for a check up to see if he has any allergies or is at a healthy weight ( he definitely seems to be ) and I think I'll talk to them about this transition but, I also want to know what you guys do! Or can lead me to scientific/ good resources.
His past owner used to feed Iams so I've been transitioning him to Only Naturals dry food that has turkey liver and other freeze dried pieces.
I am also feeding him different brands of wet food to see what he likes, he eats it sometimes. I'm trying to transition him to only wet but I'm worried I'm going to do it incorrectly by that I mean do it too fast and I am also realizing how expensive it will be to feed him just wet food.