Newly Adopted by a Feral

cdm

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi--I'm totally new to cats and need some advice. We live in a rural area of So. FL and unfortunately people tend to drop off their unwanted dogs and cats here. A little background on my cats-- after about a year of seeing a big feral tom we've named Sandy, I finally got smart, learned about TNR and got him taken care of with the help of our local feral cat organization. When I began feeding him, I also attracted a feral tabby kitten, whom we've named Dixie. She's taming quite nicely and spends much of her time in the house or on our screen porch.

Now the problems. When we go away and leave a feeder, we are feeding who knows how many opossums. I saw one at the feeder so am sure that's why we're going through so much food. My idea is to attach a shelf to the side of our metal shed so the cats would need to jump up and hopefully our possums won't find a way to reach it. I'll have to put some type of shelter over the food to keep the rain out of it. Any comments on this? Is there a better way?

On to the next problem. Besides Sandy and Dixie, we now have a huge bully cat coming around. It seems to be feral, but I just don't know for sure. There are several cats roaming our neighborhood who have owners. This cat is so mean to the other animals that I admit that I chase it away. The neighbor watched it go after my kitten. I can trap it and have it neutered, but then what?

Thanks all. I've really enjoyed reading on this site already. I have been a dog person all my life (no dogs now) and I know I have lots to learn.

sweets

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi CDM,

I also have a problem with possums. I've learned to feed the cats before dark since possums aren't usually walking around then. Since I usually sit outside with the ferals while they are eating, it also keeps the possums away.