New Persian Owner From California

olichkaskitties

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone! My name is Olga im from Sacramento CA and i just got an adorable persian baby named Honey Bee.
I have have an exotic shorthair named coco but Im new to persians and all that hair!
She is the first pedigreed CFA cat i have owned and I am planning to show her in premiere localy in Cali to try out the show experienceand see if its something i want to comit to, and maybe breed in the future.

so i will have lots of questions and would welcome your answers
20190721_181104.jpg

GoldyCat

Staff Member
Purraise
Welcome to TCS and Congratulations on your new baby.

How old is she? When will you be able to start showing her? When you enter her in a show be sure to check the box for "new exhibitor". The show manager can bench you next to someone who can help guide you through the whole show process.

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
That's great, I hope you have a wonderful time showing Honey Bee! How old is she, and has she been shown before, as a kitten or cat?

Grooming a show Persian is complicated. Do you have a local Persian exhibitor mentor who can help you learn to groom Honey Bee, keep her in show condition and groom her for the shows? I have never shown a Persian but posiepurrs posiepurrs may be able to give you some advice.

There are not many CFA shows in California in the summer. In Sacramento, you are technically in CFA's Northwest Region (Region 2), but you are also close to CFA's Southwest Region (Region 5). Here are the show calendars:
CFA Northwest (Region 2): CFA Northwest Region - Show Calendar
CFA Southwest (Region 5): Show Schedule

The next CFA show in CA is in Glendale on August 24. Here is the exhibitor flyer:
https://storage.googleapis.com/wzukusers/user-27506423/documents/5d24e4d9ae81b94IWxe5/Royal Jewels 2019.pdf

So, you will have some time to work on your grooming routine before the next show :)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

olichkaskitties