New indoor cat owner ! Smelly, frequent poops, litter and cling on's. HELP!!!!

jemma lucy

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
:wavey: Hi guys im new to the site, Im from Sydney, Australia. Ive just adopted 2 ragdoll adult cats (sisters) both 4 years old - Jemma & Lucy. They live indoors with me in a small apartment. I absoloutly love my new babies dearly but we are having a little
issue. poop....The diet they were on was only Iams dry kibble and their poop is sooo smelly, it makes me wanna heave and I have a pretty strong stomach!! They also poop 3-4 times daily and if it is not removed immediatley they wee and poop outside the litter box. (a nice surprise to come home to!) They also get cling ons in their long fur and I have many a time chasing them around like a madwoman to clean their messy buts. I pretty much spend all my spare time cleaning up poop, and seeing im a nurse for a living, thats a lot of poop cleaning :lol3:!  Ive been reading up on various diets for cats to change the odour, frequency and consistancy of their stools. I saw that a diet of meat is a lot better for them. i have noticed My cats seem quite lethergic and not as bright or playful as other cats ive known. Is it true that a lot of pet foods contain mainly fillers/cereals ? I was quite surprised as any vet or 'expert' will tell you that the high priced brand name premium dry foods are all you need to feed your cat, and in fact my own vet told me the very same thing - however- I read that if the diet is high in meat (as cats are carnivores) they will not produce as much waste and it is more natural. from what i have seen in this thread this looks promising ! however, I tried one of my cats on minced steak and she had diarrhoa all day. perhaps i made the switch too quick? Ive also been slowly introducing a new 'grain free' kibble and wet food, however this dosnt seem to be helping and the stools are still mushy and smelly. I have read about 'natural' brands such as evo, natures .. ect. but I can't fi