New Foster Baby- Only 1.5 Weeks!

1sweetfairytale

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone. I haven't posted for awhile.

I just got a new foster today. He is the youngest one I have had before. He is only about 1.5 weeks. So far, he has peed a couple times (no poop yet) and has eaten a little. However, he is having trouble latching on. I cut the bottle tip a little bigger so the flow was easier and am doing all the stuff with keeping them upright, etc.

I fed him about 5:30pm, then again about 8pm. He didn't eat for long, but he latched on well twice and drank for about 5 seconds each. He's now under a thick fleece blanket sound asleep next to me as I type this.

I'm still worried he isn't getting enough. Any suggestions/support/etc?

Attachments

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
Hello 1sweetfaitytale, thank you for fostering this kitty. He's a cutie :lovecat:

I've no experience in this area but hopefully there will be help along soon.

Last edited by a moderator:

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
How much does the kitten weigh?

A kitten is fed based on weight. It needs 8mLs of formula for each ounce of weight.

The kitten needs to gain 6-10 grams per day, and needs a heating pad or hot water bottle or rice sock for warmth.

A kitten this age needs to be fed at least every 2 hours.

You may find it easier to feed the kitten with a 1 or 2 mL syringe. This way you have more control over what the kitten gets. You put drops in the side of the kitten's mouth, allowing time for the kitten to swallow and breathe. 5 seconds on the bottle is not enough.

Thank you for fostering! :)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

1sweetfairytale

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
How much does the kitten weigh?