new agressive behavior towards brother

mlopez

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Please help I am new at this,
I have 2 Blue Siamese kittens brother and sister 51/2 months old. I have had them for about 3 weeks, and they have been absolutely inseperable, they call each other constantly when apart. They are both timid (not very comfortable around people...me a little)but are starting to warm up, and are very sweet, mellow and loving especially Bella.Today I took Bella and Max to get their 1st set of shots and have Max nutered, Bella is not spayed yet. He was seperated from her from 8:30am this morning until about 4:00pm. I brought her home and she cried and looked for him for hours until she fell asleep. When I brought him home I expected a loving reunion but what I found was horrible. She hisses and growls and attacks him every time he tries to come near her. She also will follow him around and hiss. She wont let him eat or use the litter box in peace.I got tired of tring to seperate them, and am worried that she will hurt him-so I seperated them but now she is banging against the door(violently) and hissing. Meanwhile Max is laying on the other side of the door cooing her.
Do you think she had a reaction to the medicine... or is she really upset(MAD) that he left her for so long?
Has anyone seen this type of behavior?It is a complete personality change.
Help me Monica...

sandie

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
This is a normal reaction. He came home and smells really different. Cats dont usually go on sight to recognise each other. They go on smell, so to her he is an outsider. She still smells the same. I would keep them seperated for another few days and let her sniff from under the door. It will pass and they will play again.

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
Yeah, the same thing happened when we got our male neutered. It got better with time. I thought it was the smell of the vet's office