Need your help

sheltra

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am a rookie needing big leage advise. We have a snowshoe siamese that has a fantastic personality. She talks alot, follows us into every room, and gets on our laps every chance she gets. She is extremely possesive of her house and of my wife and I. We got her from my grandfather when he passed away. She was about two at the time, and now she is between 3 & 4. My question is, should we get another cat to keep her company when we are working? Or will that just upset her and take away from her personality and interaction with us?

[Edited by sheltra on 03-13-2001 at 11:37 PM]

sandie

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Well, siamese are very social creatures. If you feel you need another addition or that she is lonley during the day it might be a good idea. They will hiss and spit at first but then should become best buddies. You may want to look into another older siamese or oriental though. This way their personalitys are compatable. It usually will not take the place of their humans love and they will not forget about you.

deb25

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I wrestled with the same decision 3 years ago. My 2 year old cat seemed perfectly happy, yet I was worried about him being lonely all day while I was at work. He had been an outdoor/indoor cat, but after a close call at losing him when I moved, he had been strictly indoors. I was worried that Squirt's personality would change and that he wouldn't accept a new cat. It literally took me a year to make up my mind. Squirt was 3 when I brought Joey into the house.

There was hissing and chasing at first. But they adjusted pretty quickly. Squirt's attitude toward me was the thing that changed the most. He was a talker, who now said nothing. When I went to pet him, he would dip his back down, as if to say, "Don't touch me." It took several months for him to get totally back to normal. I shed a few tears thinking he didn't love me anymore.