Need help selecting a cat.

scarlet

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello every and anyone.

I'm really new to this so forgive me if I've entered in the wrong area.

I'm in the market for buying a cat. I have to consider my tastes as well as my sons.

I've been looking through library books on cats (pure breds) to try and get an idea of what kind of cat will suit my family.

I will not be breeding cats, so I don't think I want to spend my money on a pure bred. So if I list what I think my son and I want in a cat, will someone out there be able to provide me with a selection of suitable cats????

There will be only the one cat in our family, so it has to be a people cat as well as (a loner??). I don't want a long haired cat, for obvious reasons, but my son doesn't want a sort haired cat. My son would like a cat with stripes or spots, likes to play alot, doesn't mind being walked on a leash (will be an indoor cat), affectionate, intelligent, not too independent because my son doesn't want a cat that will not need him.

Not sure what else I should be looking for. Is there anyone out there who can help me???

Thank you.
Scarlet

hissy

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
You will even find purebreds there, and there is no mistaking the love of a cat towards the human who rescued it from an existence so bleak.....

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
Hi Scarlet and welcome to the forums!

Congrats on getting a cat. I think it's very wise to think about what kind of cat.

For starters, I think that 2 cats is better and easier than one cat (as they keep each other company). If you're sure you only want one cat, then ask at the shelters if they cats who need to be an only cat.