Need A New Food Regimen For < 1 Year Old Siberian Cat

bright3n

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,

I would love some advice on what would be best to feed by 11 month old male siberian. He is fast, energetic, and loves to eat. I think he's between 11-12 lbs at the moment, and still growing. He is a healthy weight.

When I first got him, I fed him a combination of Royal Canin canned and dry kitten food. Since then I learned about the benefits of raw and transitioned him to Darwin's raw food for several months, eating about .375 lbs of their ground duck, turkey, and chicken meals daily, split into 3 meals. He's not picky about food but I want to switch him off Darwin's to something else, ideally around the same price range of about $2-3 per day. (I am a student so keeping things closer to $2 / day without losing too much nutrition is definitely a consideration for me!) I'm open to feeding a combination of canned, raw, and freeze dried raw. I've been through this forum and there are a lot of great food options, but I'm having trouble sorting out what is the best option or combination for my cat, who is still quite young, big, growing...

Also, I brush his teeth with an enzymatic toothpaste about once a week but if there are any food recommendations that will have him chewing into pieces of meat instead of just ground meat that will be great.

Please post any suggestions you may have.

Last edited:

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hi, and welcome to TCS :D

It's always tricky to answer a 'best food' question. There are so many good diets out there and, honestly, there aren't enough long term scientific studies as yet to categorically prove the 'best' diet. The one thing that IS agreed on is that, ultimately, the best food for your cat is the one he will happily eat! It doesn't matter how great the food is if it doesn't get into the cat ;)