My cats not fat...YET, but getting there.

kookoo4kitties

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
My 11 month old cat is starting to get a little on the chubby side. We fill her bowl in the morning and she usually finishes it by the next morning - it holds about 2 1/2 cups. And then she gets 1/2 a packet of moist cat food from a packet or about half a can of fancy feast.

I want to get her on a healthy feeding schedule - the last thing I want is an overweight cat with no energy! Am I giving her too much dry food for the day? Or is it the wet food thats the problem?

koolkatz

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
How many ounces is the fancy feast can? I'm not very experienced with cats at all but they are supposed to get at least 4 oz a day according to my vet.

koolkatz

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Oops, I thought you meant he wasn't eating enough. Ignore my last post. If you're giving him half a whole 5.5 ounce can in addition to the other cat food, it might be too much

koolkatz

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
@Kat0121  yeah that makes sense. In both dry and wet foods, carbs like corn are usually fillers and have no benefits to cats.

andrya

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Agreeing with @Kat0121  . Most people will switch their cats from dry to wet when they need to lose weight (among other health benefits).

Dry food always has more carbs that wet, because of the extrusion process. What kind of pouches are you feeding? The Fancy Feast pates are actually a pretty good choice. Pretty high in meat protein and pretty low in carbs. No grains, corn, wheat gluten etc. 

Last edited:

Kat0121

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise