My Cat Wont Sleep On My Bed Since We Moved House.

ceok

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat (Lulu) used to always sleep at the end of my bed, even when she was a kitten she actually used to always sleep right behind my head on the pillow.
I am currently a student so unfortunately I do not have a permanent home. She is two years old and this is the third home she has lived in.The first was only for about 2months. I had hoped to find a more permanent home for her but finding the perfect home is not easy.
We moved into our new home about 6months ago and I feel like she has become more distant since we moved. She never sleeps on my bed anymore EVER. Whenever she comes into my bedroom she immediately runs under the bed and will only come out to explore when everything is quiet. If i even sit up on the bed she runs straight back under the bed. I know this is her safe place but I don't know why she is so anxious when she is in my room.
I live with my boyfriend who I was with when I first got her as a kitten so she is used to him as well.
I really enjoy my quality time with my cat especially when I am going to bed. I would love to get it back somehow.
I also close my bedroom door when I sleep (which I have always done) but now I find she will also come out from under the bed and scratch at my bedroom door. When I get up to open the door and let her out she runs straight under the bed again.

I'm so sorry this is such a long post I just wanted to include as much as I could as I am desperate to change this and know what I am doing wrong.

Letta

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi,
It sounds like your cat is nervous. How did she settle in the new place?
Is she confident or mostly hug the walls.
You might want to try to give her more shelfing, cat trees and high place to go to in your bedroom it does wonder to their confident. Do you play with her? Play is a very good way to establish confidence in cats.

ondine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise