Multiple Cats And Cat Communication Question.

coffeechick

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I'm new to multiple cats. For the longest time, I thought cats did not get along with each other. That they weren't social animals, and only tolerated...I dunno, it doesn't make sense now.

Because I have two littermates now, and I watch them doing their thing all the time. Their adorable 'competitive grooming'--they don't always take turns, so they both groom the other's face at the same time--and their slightly creepy 'moving the same way at the same time'.

Today, though, I encountered something that I can't make sense of.

El 'announced' or 'greeted' me [still working out her language--it's a process], then, a bit later, Morti came into the room.

El meowed like she did when she saw me.

Cats don't meow to each other, though, right?

My question, I guess, is: people with more than one cat--what just happened? Did El greet Morti, or did El announce Morti's presence to the rest of us?

Do your cats ever meow to each other?

Is this another thing I 'know' that's wrong?

danteshuman

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I would bet El felt the attention slipping and wanted to make sure you were paying attention to her (not Morti.) So she meowed again.

dahli6

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
My cats barely meow. There is a lot of them and I am almost fluent in eye movement and body language, sometimes I miss nuances. Usually they meow for our attention specifically; open the door or notice me.
That doesn't mean that your El is doing it wrong. From household to household cat language is different because environment and circumstances are different.
My cats respond to Chinese, Korean and English. They don't speak verbally other than growls and squeaks, the only one who doesn't "speak" body language is exclusively is the blind cat and he has adapted to listening to body movements and sometimes makes chatter noises to determine distance.