Mother Cat Has Swollen Breasts

Unreacheabledreams

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello, so... I need help
The thing is, my cat gave birth a month ago to five kittens. Two of them died and the rest are still alive. But, for some reason, the mother's breasts are swollen and hard, and they're causing her extreme pain. She's even refusing to feed her kittens because of how much painful it is. She tries to, but as soon as they touch her, she immediately starts attacking them due to her pain. And i don't know what to do... I hate seeing her sudfer, and i don't want the babies to die due to lack of getting fed by their mother. I tried to place a warm cloth on her breasts, but it did nothing. And one breast bleed a bit yesterday. What should i do? Please help.
I'm going to send a picture as well.

Attachments

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I'm no expert, but it sounds like she may have mastitis. She really does need to see a vet. This can be life threatening if left untreated. The kittens will need bottle feeding until she can nurse them again. Given their age, you can start weaning them too, so they can eat some on their own. I remember the breeder telling me about something similar happening with my boys' mama when they were very young (I think only a couple of weeks old), though in her case only one teat was affected. She started the weaning process right then, just in case mama cat didn't make it.
How To Save Your Cat From These 16 Life-threatening Pregnancy Risks

StefanZ StefanZ and @Sarthur2 may be able to help you in more detail. Hope this helps :crossfingers::vibes::vibes::vibes::vibes::vibes:

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
It does sound like mastitis. This can be fatal if left untreated, so please get her and the kittens to the vet as soon as you can. The mother will need antibiotics to clear the infection up.