Meat Grinder Suggestions...

everariana

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone, I've finally built up the courage to grind my cats' raw food myself (including bone). I've been feeding them grinds from Hare-Today for the past 8 months but shipping costs from PA to CA are getting expensive. Catinfo.com Dr. Pierson's apprehension to buying grinds also kinda scared me lol! So my only choice is to grind meat myself.

That being said...unfortunately the #1 recommended grinder, the Tasin-TS 108, is discontinued on One Stop Jerky Shop's website :( I can't seem to find it anywhere else and I can't afford the $400 Weston #12 one. Has anyone tried this Weston #12 model that has a way lower cost? Is it comparable to the $400 model? If not, do you have any recommendations for grinders that can take soft bone? I'm honestly devastated because right when I worked up the courage to go fully independent...I can't find the most essential tool at an affordable price. Thank you in advance!

MOD Note - 5/10/2021 - Please see post #10 in this thread. The grinder is no longer discontinued and the store is not closed.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter

everariana

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I called One Stop Jerky Stop and turns out the reason the grinder is being discontinued is that the store is closing :(

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
The Weston #12 costs $179 on sale here: Weston #12 Heavy Duty Electric Grinder 1 HP|33-1301-W

I'm sure there are comparable grinders to the Tasin. Just look for something with similar features /parts. Maybe a hunting forum / web site would be helpful? There must be hunters who grind the meat they kill and could recommend a good inexpensive grinder.

There is a similar raw meat supplier to Hare-Today on the West Coast. I can't remember the name of it :think:

Here's a resource for other raw meat suppliers:

everariana

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise