Maine Coon??

DanniD

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone
just looking for opinions.
this is my cat, Cora. She is five years old. Picked her up as a rescue kitten, found dumped at a construction site.
Over the last five years, always thought she was a Maine coon or at least part, thoughts?
she is not big, more on the smaller side but figured that has to do with being dumped and neglected?
Thanks !!

Attachments

Maria Bayote

Mama of 4 Cats, 4 Dogs , 2 Budgies & 2 Humans
Top Cat
Purraise
Wow beautiful cat! So regal-looking. :)
I am not a breed expert but she probably does have some maine coon in her. Without papers, she will be considered as DLH.

She looks like my Bourbon. :redheartpump: :redheartpump:

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Wow, she's stunning! Her eyes are just breath taking.

No, I don't think she's part Maine Coon. Her profile is different and she doesn't have the ear furnishings a Maine Coon would have. I would say she's a domestic long hair. What a lucky find, though.

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
There are several breeds that can lead to longer hair and her looks, Norwegian Forest Cat, Siberian, Ragdoll, etc. plus the Maine Coon. She doesn't have the ear tufts and the blocky, pronounced muzzle that Maine Coons have, but she could have some in her background. She would be a Domestic Long hair in her description without papers, her coloring is brown tabby, she has the 'M' on her forehead between/above her eyes. Beautiful cat!

jen

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
The likelihood of finding a purebred cat dumped as a kitten is so extremely rare. Most cats are no particular breed at all and while we can compare them to all the breeds out there, they come from generation after generation of domestics breeding with domestics and are in fact just domestic short or long hair cats with no pure genetic ancestry. Gorgeous cat though!

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise