Lethargic after vaccines

kattiekitty

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi all,

Well I took Oscar in for his annual and vaccines on Monday. We go to a cat only clinic that uses the purevax vaccines. Well we opted to just do the fvrcp vaccine and maybe do rabies in a few weeks. Good thing, as he has been kinda lethargic since then. I've been a tech and know all the usual vaccine reactions, and the fact that they may run a low grade fever for about 24 hours, but it has been three days. He is acting mostly normal, eating and he will play with the dog and pester Kattie, but it also seems he goes up on bed to sleep more than usual, the last few days. He was really punky on monday night, and less so the following days but still. Being a vet tech I worry about things more as I know all the things that can go wrong. Anyways, he isn't overtly acting sick just less active. I am wondering since I think the vaccine is a modified live virus, it might be making him feel a little icky like the flu vaccine does to us. I will call the vet tomorrow if he is still off, but honestly he is still eating, drinking and going to the litterbox, he is also playing but just less often. Any similar experiences? I believe that his last fvrcp was a killed virus but those are more risky as they have an adjuvant. Gosh makes me want to cancel his rabies in a few weeks...

otto

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I know how you feel. Queen Eva had diarrhea for a week after her first adult PureVax rabies. I've been putting off the FVRCP for that reason. She's had the kitten shots though and I do want her to have one adult FVRCP booster, just to be sure.

Tolly has never had a problem with PureVax rabies, but I stopped the distemper shots for him long ago, as they make him really sick and I don't think he (or the other adult cats for that matter) needs it any more.

But rabies vaccine is law here, so they get the annual PureVax rabies.

xocats

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
It is all so confusing....:dk: