Let the Adventures Begin

Newcatontheblock

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
For the last few months I had been thinking I wanted to add a cat to my life (full disclosure I am a cat newbie) researched a good bit about being a cat parent and stated buying the essentials. Well I kept an eye on the local shelters online, and after a while felt it was time to move from the screen to visits. I went to a few places. This past weekend I went to a local shelter and fell in love with two adult cats. I was there so long trying to decide that they told me the shelter was closing that I should go home and come back in the morning with my decision.

I talked it over with some friends, and I decided to get both. I thought maybe coming to a new home there would be less of the territorial issues, and thought they would get along since they both appeared to be timid cats. Also I work long hours, so this way they would have a friend. Now, I am the proud human to Little, 4 yrs old declawed (by prior owner) male DSH and Puff, 3 yrs old clawed female DMH.

I am so nervous being so new to this adventure, it is only day 3 and I find myself hyper aware/worried about Little being declawed and Puff not, and how much I should keep them separated. Little spent the entire first day scared in an opening between the kitchen counter I did not realize was big enough of for anything to go into lol but finally came out for food. I have two litter boxes and during room swaps Little was the first to use both.

I am just a newbie filled with so much worry that they will get along, that I am not being overboard with trying to make sure everything is going well, and reading into each hiss or movement. Tomorrow is my first day back at the office post adoption. Let the adventure begin! Sorry for the long post, but I look forward to being a member here! :)

Attachments

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
ddfdf3aea4505a09a8773682249eaa7f.jpg