Leaving wet food out for long periods of time.

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
From Dr. Lisa A. Pierson's web site (http://www.catinfo.org/#My_cats_are_now_eating):

An added note about leaving canned food out: Keep in mind that a cat's gastrointestinal tract is much different from ours. I routinely leave canned food out for up to 12 hours at a time for my foster cats and kittens. I have been doing this for many years and hundreds of cats and kittens have passed through my foster room without experiencing any problems from this practice. If the weather is extra warm, I will try to visit my foster room a bit more often but if my schedule does not permit it, then I still do not worry about leaving the canned food out.
This is much longer than the manufacturers recommend leaving their food out. What does everyone think about this? Getting my monsters to eat more wet would be much simpler if I felt comfortable leaving it out longer.

raggiekitty

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I have read a number of people say that they just put some out and go to work....kitties are fine.... I think if it were to have set out too long, the cats would probably just ignore it.
I am not feeding wet right now as Zoe got to turning up her nose at every kind I offered and wanted just the dry...but when I was feeding it, I did get to where I left it out a little longer instead of picking it up as soon as she was done (I read the article you posted and others that left it out) and quit worrying over it so much and she was fine with whatever she ate. When she was done, she was done.
Later I would pick it up so she would be ready for her next feeding or if it looked too dried out....
It will be interesting to see the responses you get. You're right it would be easier to feed more of it that way. I think animals have pretty good instincts (better than ours by a long shot) and seem to know when to not eat somethings....

sharky

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise