Kittens being raised by complete novices!

susangail

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi there, My husband and I are trying to raise 9 kittens without their mom. Right now everyone looks healthy and playful but a few of them have very loose stools. One in particular did not make it into the litter box and his was like water. My question is this: can we give them pepto bismal (like you do for puppies) or is there something better for kittens? Obviously we need an answer quickly... we have the same question phoned into our vet but haven't had a reply yet and I'm a litte worried about this. Thanks.

dawnt91

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
SusanGail - Wow! Sounds like you have your hands full. I'm sorry that I don't know the answer to your question, but I'm going to move this thread to the Health forum where you'll get some really good answers. We have some very knowledgeable people there. Good luck with the babies.

simon's mommy

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
What kind of milk are you giving them? Are you giving them KMR milk replacer for cats? If not this could be the problem. As for giving them Pepto Bismal I have no idea. I an not an expert but I know you can not give them regular milk. Good luck maybe someone else can help more.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

susangail

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I should have been more specific. The kittens are between 5 and 7 weeks old. Five are from a litter where the mom was hit by a car on the road. The other four we just took from another mom before she moved them again and we couldn't find them (barn cats). We have one more we are going to get when he is a teeny bit older.