Kitten Won't Let Me Eat!

Azeew

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I adopted a 2 month kitten 3 days ago. It's my first time with cats, so I'm kinda having some problems :p

I ALWAYS eat in my room, in front of my PC. That's in a really big "table", where the kitten is used to hanging around and sleeping on. He's 90% of the time inside my room by the way. And, of course, eating has been a huge problem. He meows like crazy, jumps on the table, tries to grab the food. I literally couldn't take a bite on my food cause I had to say no and put him down multiple times until I gave up and eat downstairs. I never fed him human food, and don't think I ever will.

The easiest and obvious fix would be to eat in my dining room normally, but I really don't wanna do that. Is there anything I can do? Is it possible to "teach" him not to jump on the table specifically when I'm eating or maybe to just look at the food and stay chill?

Any tips and experiences would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance!

duckpond

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Can you give him his dinner at the same time? maybe if he is eating he wont bug you?

Otherwise its most likely just going to take time. at 2 months he is a baby, he will want and need a lot of attention, and a lot of food :) as he gets older he will chill out. Mine, grown cats, will come by and look at my plate, want to see what im eating, sometimes, but then they just walk away. only other option i can think of is to shut the door while you are eating? Kittens, especially only kittens take a lot of time and attention from their humans, after they get a year, two years old they are normally not as needy. Enjoy these baby kitten days, you may not think so now, but you will miss them someday :)

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise