Kitten/senior Feeding Issues- Plus Grain Free Questions - Trouble Shoot!

Harborlily

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi! This is my first time posting here, but I'm hoping I can get a little help with troubleshooting our feeding schedule and foods.

Cats are:
Stripe - 15 yrs and healthy weight (he is 15 lbs)
Gambit - 8yrs and overweight (he tends towards being highly muscular but he has been lazy lately and he's getting hefty - normal for him is about 18lbs and now he is around 19)
Bailey - 9weeks and 1.9lbs (his mama was feral and didn't know how to feed him- she lost his littermates and I rescued him) he is gaining well now and I do weights every other day with him

Current feeding schedule:
1/4c of dry (taste of the wild venison) in the morning for the big boys and a few kibbles mixed with wet food (whole earth) and petlac for Bailey

They dont clean their bowls... so it's almost like free feeding them

Bailey gets offered food whenever he wakes up from a nap and generally is eating 3oz of wet per day mixed with pet lac and he does snack on kibble

pm - 1 5.5oz can of whole earth or evo or merrick split between them (bailey's is mixed with pet lac and some kibble) and they seem to hate the wet and it is eventually finished overnight

Dry food is most cost effective for us and I would prefer to just free feed and then offer a treat or something at dinner time but if they should continue to be scheduled that's fine as well...

I like ToTW but I prefer to feed instict when we can fit that in the budget.... Whole Earth dry seems ok and I'm wondering if free feeding that may help with the weight issue?

The bigger boys seem super picky lately and really only devour purina pro plan dry (bought some to try and they were so happy with the taste but the ingredients seem pretty bad...)

Now if I scheduled them more and say left the dry down for 20 minutes and then removed it - how often would I need to feed Bailey? He's too young to be eating twice a day right?