Kitten lashing out after bad experiences

lyssa366

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
So, I'm a student in Vet assistant and animal grooming, a few weeks ago I took my kitten into class and attempted in giving him a bath and get him cleaned up. The experience was horrible and my professor was very rude about the situation, needless to say the poor guy peed himself and ended up having to be muzzled as he started lashing out at my face. i am no longer bringing him to school ever again. He was fine in the waiting area of our school but as soon as i brought him pass the doors into the hallway where the other doors to the cat and dog ward is, and he started growling and hissing and started to lash out at me again, i thought maybe he was feeling the stress of the other cats and knew it wasn't a good place to be. When I first got my kitten, trips to the actual vet clinic was amazing, he didn't care at all. Because I'm so far from home i had to consider a different vet for the time i'm living up here, the first trip there went amazing, he was a doll. the second trip, after the grooming incident, he was really bad at the vet getting his booster, again lashing out at my face. And now, for the time being my roommate is babysitting a cat from the kennels at school for a friend, and my kitten has found out as the kennel cat sits at my bedroom door all day, and now whenever i go to pickup my kitten in my room or anything, hes lashing out at me and wont let me near him. I don't know what to do, he's getting neutered in a few weeks and im worried that the neuter won't go very well with his behavior. i know he must be traumatized but i just don't know what to do.

itsnotpeanutbut

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Why did you take your kitten into class? Cats easily get stressed out when introduced to completely new environments, and if his first experience with a completely new surrounding = annoying bathing rituals.. Well then you're just looking for trouble.