Kitten always hissing

NovusAnimus

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
2 weeks ago I adopted a ragdoll kitten, 18 weeks old at the time, female, from a breeder. I started her off in my room, where she quickly made her home under my bed, and I got to talk to all day while I worked. I'm a writer and work from home, I have no children, no other pets, and 1 roommate who's gone most of the time. I spend 15m-45m playing with her every day, and often approach her either on all fours, on my butt, standing, sometimes sliding on my stomach.

Day 1: Car trip home, 6 hour drive, not fun for kitten in carrier. Get home, kitten hides under my bed.

Day 2: Kitten continues to hide, but isn't bolting terrified. I get under the bed with her, try and talk to her gently, but she dislikes this, so I leave her be. She is eating and drinking and using the litter box, but only if I'm not around. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 3: Begins to explore the room, very slowly and shyly. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 5: Brave enough to run around the room floor while I work. When playing, is brave enough to chase toy up to my leg and touch me. Sniffs my leg, sniffs my hand. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 6: I open door to bedroom to let her explore the apartment. She doesn't. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 7: Shy, quick trips out of the bedroom to explore. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 8: Jumps up onto my desk while I'm working. Hisses if I move my hand toward her even slightly. Is exploring the apartment more thoroughly. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 10: Jumps onto my bed, playing and stuff. I set my head onto bed, no problems. Will hiss the moment I approach.

Day 12: Comfortable exploring the apartment even when my roommate and I are watching TV. Will sit on cat tower 7 feet away from the two of us, grooming herself. Lots of slow blinks. Will hiss the moment I approach.