Just Rescued 2 Ferals... Questions

KrisinOhio

Kristin
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi, I just rescued a stray/feral female and her kitten 4 days ago. I have been feeding them outside for several months and have been able to pet and play with the mother. Now they are contained to a cat room with with toys, seats, furniture, etc. Feeding and socialization has been going well. But my husband pointed out to me yesterday that these cats are used to a lot of exercise, wandering the neighborhood and now they are in a 12 x 8 room. How do I provide enough exercise and interest for them until they can roam the house? They don't seem to care for toys. There are scratch posts, window sill seats in the room. Any advice would be appreciated!!

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise
You are really doing the right thing to have given them a room which is set up for them. I am assuming that they are not entirely tame or friendly yet? If they will play with you, they may chase little ping pong type balls, use a cat scratcher with the ball they can chase around it, or play with you via a cat dancer type toy. There are also lots of other interactive toys, non electronic, if you visit Petsmart or check online. My young cat has a fabric tunnel which he loves to run in and out of if I dangle a toy in front of it.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

KrisinOhio

Kristin
Adult Cat
Purraise
Thank you! The mother is pretty tame, very loving, but a little freaked out being inside. The kitten is pretty wild, but curious. I worry about theem being bored, since the used to roam the neighborhood and now are confined. Looking to keep them interested and exercised. I will check out the tunnel

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Be sure these kitties get to the vet for vaccines, FIV and FELV testing as well as spay or neuter. You want to be sure they are healthy. You are doing a wonderful thing by rescuing these cats, but vet care is essential.