Just found your great site!

msFriday

Smokey at 7 months and Indy at 5 years
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi, I am new to TCS, and wanted to introduce myself (Diane) and Indy.  He is solid black, almost 4 years old, and weighs about 9 pounds (he is sleek and petite!).  My husband and I adopted our newest family member from a no-kill cat rescue in Nov. 2016. 

We didn't think of this until we got home with him, but actually, Indy was probably pretty happy where he was.  They were not in cages, but were running free in a large "house" with doors connecting the rooms.  He was probably with 15-20 cats at all times, so he was never lonely or bored.  They had sofas, beds, cat trees, and lots and lots of cat walks (?) near the ceiling and connecting the rooms.  There was even a large completely fenced in area outside with shelves and cat trees so they could be outside!  All in all, he had a pretty good life! 

In some ways he may have been happier there -- but we are doing our best to make his new life great.  I am home all day, and play with him often.  He has two cat trees, one of which leads to the top of the bookcase that runs the length of our den.  He has a narrow "sofa" table at the den window, covered with a soft fleece blanket so he can watch the Blue jays and squirrels in the front yard.  We have a sunporch (which we installed LP heat in for him) with 3 sliding glass doors, so he can watch our back yard to his heart's content.  He has 4 beds throughout the house, not counting the cat trees, and dozens of toys.  And my husband even built him his own carpeted "deck" in the outside basement stairwell (which is inside the sunroom), with a carpeted ramp going to our master bathroom window -- which is open all the time, so he can come and go as he likes.

Indy's picture from the rescue shelter -- we fell for those big golden eyes!