Is this ethical breeding?

andrew113

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I've been talking at length to a borzoi breeder who seems really great in every way. Experienced with the breed, checks all the boxes in what to look for in a good breeder. However, I just found out that for the upcoming litter— the one I was planning to get a (companion) puppy from— the parents are siblings. Is that a normal thing to do? I asked the breeder about health effects of inbreeding like that, and the breeder said that genetic tests were run before deciding to breed them. Both the parents are national champions, so I guess the breeder wanted to maintain some traits? I am new to this, so I wanted to see if the inbreeding situation is as concerning as it sounds?

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
A sibling breeding is inbreeding. The actual amount of inbreeding involved, however, depends on what is behind the parents, and if they are inbred themselves. It is theoretically possible for a sibling mating to have less inbreeding than a mating of two dogs that don't have any obvious repeats in a three generation pedigree... it will depend on the rest of the pedigree.

Since this breeder sounds like a good breeder in other ways, you could ask a little more about the breeding plans and the overall coefficient of inbreeding for the litter. When the breeder said that they ran genetic tests, it's also possible they ran tests for genetic diversity and the expected diversity of the puppies. Ask all the questions you have about their breeding methodology. Most serious breeders love to talk about about why they make breeding decisions.

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
For example, here is the UC Davis VGL genetic diversity testing page for Borzoi, along with a research report on the breed:

If you read the population structure portion of the report, you will see that the Borzoi that were tested for this report can be clustered into different genetically distinguishable, related groups: