How To Increase A Cat's Confidence In Unfamiliar Places?

PMousse

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
My cat, Ashton, is confident and relaxed at home. She never hides from strangers, but comes right up to them and their belongings and sniff them (although she doesn't like them touching her). And I've been regularly inviting people over so that she gets regular "practice" of meeting strangers and doesn't lose this confidence.

But I want to make her more confident in UNFAMILIAR places as well. It all stemmed from her first visit to the vet a while ago - she was really nervous, probably because of 1) an unfamiliar place (i.e. not her territory) and 2) there were so many smells of other cats and dogs. This made it hard for the vet to handle her, and having a stranger handle her added to her stress even more.

So I started training her to wear a leash, and has taken her to the balcony to explore. I also let her out of my apartment to explore the hallway sometimes. She likes it, smelling different scents, but as soon as she hears footsteps, she darts right back home, and sits away from the front door until the hallway is quiet again.

Once she gets better at leash walking, I plan to take her to my building's rooftop to explore. But what else can I do to help her be less skittish around strangers in unfamiliar places? My ultimate goal is that she will be less nervous in unfamiliar places and allow strangers to touch her.

rubysmama

Forum Helper
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I'm not sure if there is any way to make a cat more comfortable in unfamiliar places. And, for some reason, cats always know when you're taking them to the vet.

My vet once suggested spraying Feliway in Ruby's cat carrier before I brought her to the vet. So you could maybe look into that.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

PMousse

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise