How often do cats need to use the litter box?

kirk

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I assume it depends on the individual cat, their age and any health issues. 

Our kittens are 6 and 7 months old. They are getting spayed and neutered tomorrow morning and the vet instructed us to keep them in their cat carriers for 24 hours following the surgeries. I've never done this before, but if we don't do it the forms we signed become void. Basically, if we follow the vet care exactly and something still goes wrong, the vet will see the cat and provide whatever they need at little to no cost. We're supposed to:

-Keep each cat in an individual cat appropriate carrier for 24 hours following their spay or neuter. 

-Keep cats separated from each other for at least 10-14 days.

-Have each cat wear a proper fitting e-collar for 10-14 days.

-Switch cat litter to Yesterday's News for 10-14 days. 

-Don't change the cats diet during the recovery period. 

-Attempt to keep cats (especially female) from running or jumping during the first 7 days. 

So since they "need" to be in their carriers for 24 hours, how often should I take them out for litter box use? I'm home all the time so it's not an issue. 

shunra

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I've had quite a few cats neutered over the years, mostly males (castration) and a few females (spay) and I've never done any special aftercare beyond not letting them out until they are well and truely over their anasthetic, which doesn't take long for males and takes a day or so for females.  They have never had a cone or collar.