How Much To Feed

ChaoticEva

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I've been feeding Banjo raw for about 7-8 months now and I've been feeding him a commercial raw. He's been having roughly 100g of raw a day. He's currently at 11.5lbs but needs to be at 10-10.5lbs.
I just bought some high quality raw from a very small pet food company (the lady literally makes the raw herself and get's it tested. and the meat is all local, hormone/antibiotic free. basically, it's AMAZING) and I was told he should be eating 3% of his ideal weight (I was feeding him 2%) which would be roughly 130g a day. I find that's a pretty big jump. I calculated that if I feed him 2.5% of his ideal weight, it would be 113g a day. I think the 113g would be best. Keep in mind that he goes to the vets every 6 to 8 weeks (it's like his Weight Watchers weigh in haha) and in 8 weeks, he's lost .4lbs. So he isn't losing weight too quickly, but that was on the old raw, which had veggies in it, which I'm guessing bulks up the food.
Basically, as you can clearly tell, I'm a little confused here haha ;)

Tobermory

“What greater gift than the love of a cat.”
Staff Member
Purraise
My three get about 114 grams a day divided into two meals. I make their food so that’s the muscle meat, liver and supplements. Ideally, it would be better to calculate calories rather than amount, but since I rotate chicken, pork, rabbit and turkey which vary in fat content, I figure I’m okay to do it by weight. I weigh them once a week and they’re all maintaining a good weight with almost no fluctuation.