Home Cooked Premixes

SpecterOhPossum

spec's pet human
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I'm considering starting to delve into a cooked diet for my girl, because commerical foods have all but drove us nuts. Which premix do you guys use? I loolel around the homecooked forum, and there are a few. I'm still learning, but figured I might as well ask what others think / hear tips as well. thank you! I will probably ask a ton more dumb questions about thos over the week.:flail:

lisahe

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I use both EZ Complete and Alnutrin with egg shell. Both contain non-bone calcium. No matter what you use, you will likely need a digital kitchen scale unless you ask a butcher to weigh all the meat for you. (Package weights can be very incorrect, something I found out only because of making cat food, so always weigh!)

So:
EZ Complete is more expensive but all you add is meat and water. It also has some form of pancreas something, which our vet is very happy about. (She loves the EZ ingredients.) Our cats like EZ food.

Alnutrin is cheaper but you have to add liver. (If you like roast chicken, I recommend buying roasting chickens that come with liver. Dinner for everybody! Though if you feed Alnutrin full-time, you'd be eating a lot of roast chicken. But I digress.) Our cats really love Alnutrin. I add a little fish oil (one capsule) to each pound of Alnutrin meat.

I add extra egg yolk to all our homemade food, two hard-boiled egg yolks per pound of meat. This is totally optional.

We feed one meal a day of EZ food and one meal a day of Alnutrin food. I cook the meat in a foil-covered glass dish with some water. I hand-shred some, chop some with a knife, chop some in the food processor, etc., for variety of texture. I also sometimes cook, say, just pork or just chicken; sometimes I cook two kinds of meat together. Pork, chicken, and turkey are the usual proteins around here.

Good luck!

P.S. Alnutrin and EZ offer samples -- I'd recommend trying those first.