Help With My 5 Week Old Kitten

Fuzziebutt

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
As the title says, I have a 5-6 week old kitten. I feed him 1/2 can (5.5oz) of wet food every morning, and by lunch, he thinks he's starving. He has dry food and water available, but am I right in sticking to my guns and only feeding him this half can once a day, or should I give him the other half late in the afternoon? I don't want a fat cat!!

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
At 5 weeks old, I would feed him as much as he can eat He's much too young to limit his food intake yet. Are you also giving him kitten replacement milk? He's awfully young yet even to be away from his mama :frown:.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Fuzziebutt

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
No milk, I am new to young kittens. I took pity on this sad face (as he did mine) at a yard sale this past weekend. I live in a small town, can I use canned milk for him?

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Lactose free milk, or goats milk. Not sure if canned milk falls into the lactose free milk or not, sorry. Also, make sure whatever food you are feeding is for "all stages" or kitten food. Some will say "adult cats". It's probably ok, but the "all stages" is better, and kitten is best (supposedly), but I don't think I've ever seen it in 5.5 oz cans.

Also, since you are new to kittens, maybe this article will help you out: Kitten Proofing Your Home: 13 Practical Tips

Plus, NO clumping litter yet. Kittens will sometimes eat the litter, and if it's clumping it can cause blockages. So stick to the non-clumping for the time being.

Let us know if you have any other questions.

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi, you will not have a fat cat, kittens need to EAT, a lot, and at least 4-5 times a day.