Help With Backyard Breeder...

Joydrop

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi!

So I'm in a bit of a pickle and need some advice. I paid a deposit for a "purebred" ragdoll, only to realize recently that the kitten will not be registered (aka no way to prove he's purebred). The deposit is non-refundable, so I can't back out now. I know I'm a noob, I should've done my research and chose a reputable breeder. Oh well, you live and you learn :updown:.

My question is, is the breeder the only one who can register the kitten? I was hoping to show the kitten, maybe just once. According to the breeder, both parents have papers but aren't registered, so the kitten can't be registered. I'm paying a bunch for the kitten already, so I don't mind spending a little extra at this point. Would it be possible to somehow register the parents, then him? Or is there anything I can do at this point?

Thanks!

auntie

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I don't know too much about this either, but my understanding is that the documents need to be given to you in the correct form by the breede, and if the parents aren't registered, there is no way for their kittens to be registered. I'm getting a kitten whose father is registered but whose mother has incomplete papers; this means my kitten will be ineligible for any registration. The breeders were very clear and offered to show me all the documents. Since I don't care about showing my cat, I'm happy with this situation as it means a vastly reduced price! I hope this is the case for you as well--

Last edited:

posiepurrs

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
What type of papers do the parents have if not registration papers? I would bet it is a non breeding registration that was never sent in - if they are truly purebred. Even without the papers, you can still show in the household pet class. If the BYB was willing to let you register her cats (I doubt it) if their registration slip shows not for breeding then the kitten could not be registered.

abyeb