Help Please. I am trying to rescue a semi feral who is not eating much (teeth or stomatitis issues)

WWG1WGA

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi,
I have been here before. I have a semi feral, I guess, he communicates with me very well who lives in the backyard.. parents did the TNR a few years ago and released him into our backyard ( Geniuses & kept his littermate inside) . He has been around since maybe 5 years ago.I moved back here and have been caring for him.. He is definitely having teeth problems or stomatitis, I have been pureeing his food for a few months, and using a homeopathic remedy with no success. I finally told my step dad its time to make this cat a member of the indoor family (his sister & my cat are indoors) they see him all the time and are aware he is out there. But enough is enough, I cant do it anymore and winter is coming he breaks my heart, I love him like my own cat... I have a vet willing to see him, but I cant catch him.. Its driving me insane, hard to coax him to eat, so he isnt so interested in looking for food in my trap. He has a few cat houses under my deck and is comfortable around here he sleeping back there now but he likes to keep a foot or two or a barricade between us. Should I grab him? I am so frustrated with the entire situation.Help Please..
Shawn.

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
What kind of food have you tried in the trap? I would go with the stinkiest food you can find. I have used canned tuna in oil as well as mackerel. Some have good luck with Kentucky fried chicken. Just take some of the meat and skin off the leg.

If you try to grab him it could do you both harm. You also could try a drop trap.

Thank you for caring for this sweet one and wanting to do the best.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

WWG1WGA

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise