HELP! My "outside cat is going to be a mommy soon!

sunblazn

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thanks Anne for responding to my post. We have only one cat. Our neighbor
has a dog who does not like cats at all. My fiance is the one who has the
problem with her being inside. He dos not approve of the idea, I can
understand where he is coming from but I wish he could be a little more
understanding. He loves he very much too but is concerned that she may have
a disease and she is not house trained because she has adapted to being an
outside cat all of her life. I have tried to tell him that if she were to
have something that it would not be contaigous to humans but he is still
skeptical. I know that she does not have rabies because she is a very
loving and compasionate kitty. We both love her very much but I am willing
to do whatever it takes to keep her safe and out of harms way. Thank you for
clearing my post. Yesterday was the first time I ever visited the web site.
I am still new at this..lol. Is there anything special that I need to do
when she delivers? I have no idea about the whole pregnancy thing. I have
no idea how far along she is or what I need to do after she has the kittens.
Any words of wisdom would help! Thank you for your concern.

gayef

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hi Jen,

Wow, I do NOT envy you this situation, my dear...but I think Momma Kitty needs to come inside to be comfortable and safe for at least 2 weeks before having her babies, and she needs to STAY inside for several weeks afterwards until all the kittens are at least 8 to 10 weeks old, and weigh enough to go to their new homes. Once all kittens have departed, Momma Kitty needs to go back to the vet and get spayed.