Help! Is my cat a Ragdoll or a Himalayan?

rsmacdonald1

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I've had my cat for about a year now, and up until now I've thought she was a Himalayan. The people from whom I adopted her told me she was a Himalayan. And that's what I believed. Yesterday, however, a friend who is a vet was over and said she looked like a Ragdoll. Is that true? How can I know for sure what breed she is?

- She doesn't have a flat face like the Himalayan show cats, but I've read that some of them can have a "doll face" with a longer snout.

- Her fur is fairly long and requires daily brushing, otherwise it will get matted. 

- When I pick her up, she does not freeze or go limp as some describe of the Ragdolls. 

So, if you know cats well and can offer any insight as to what breed she is, I would really appreciate it! 

skallal

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am no expert, but your kitty definitely could be a Ragdoll. I have a Ragdoll who is nearly a year old with very similar fur. His fur does get matted easily. As far as going limp? My kitty does NOT like to be picked up, but does go limp. He didn't go limp as a young kitten though. Another sign of a Ragdoll, they like to stretch out on the floor, roll over, and stretch their legs and paws out. Their body language is relaxed. Also your cat has blue eyes, which is a must for a Ragdoll.

That said, I don't know much about Himalayan cats. I'm leaning toward the Ragdoll because I have a pure one from a breeder, but someone else would be a better judge.

Steve

42cattier

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I believe it's Snowshoe (white mittens). Himalayans are half persian with short nose, dark colored Ragdolls have dark feet and similar face.

I have Ragdoll, darkest one (seal point).

nbrazil

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise